waking up.

It felt like a dream. It still does.

I couldn’t quite believe that I was going to leave for Delft exactly two years ago. Although I’ve wanted it for some time, the departure came a little bit abruptly. I barely had any time to convince myself that I was actually going. I was back to school. Little that I knew back then that the decision was one of the best ones I’ve ever made.

If being an international student in a highly reputable university has taught me one thing, it would be that work hard is ALWAYS paired with to play even harder. There are times when you queue in from of the central library from 07:30 am on Sunday, knowing that it opens at 8. There are times when you have an 8 am meeting with your mentor. But there are definitely times when you hit the dance floor hard at a bar in the city centre. And there are times when you turned your faculty into the coolest club in Delft, and party ‘til the dawn breaks.

I must say that it had been a very wonderful time, enjoyable and humbling at the same time. I had encountered numbers of acquaintances here in Delft; most of them have become a part of my extended family. Surprisingly (and thankfully) they are willing to bear with me and all of my dramas! I could never thank them enough for coloring my days the past two years. They have shared their passion and knowledge, experiences and stories, tears and laughter. As Coldplay would put it, “Didn’t we have fun?”

RECAPHOTOS2

All of those fancy words have been written down in the “Acknowledgement” chapter of my Master’s Thesis, but not the names. So, please, allow me to mention you, whom I have owed this favour to.

Wahyu Pratomo, the next-door neighbour, the fellow Indonesian in Urbanism studio, the strangest encounter I’ve had the past two years (please, take it as a compliment, Way!) who has been patiently responding to my rants. A bright future is waiting for you, Mister.

Nikita Baliga, the unofficial third mentor during the graduation year. My graduation project would never be the same without your feedback. I miss our discussions and coffee-breaks already. I’ll see you soon in Indonesia, or in India.

Wenchi Yang, Martin Dennemark, Angela Moncaleano, Laura García, Lilla Szilágyi, Manos Prinianakis, Alkmini Papaioannou, Axel Buysschaert, Ting Wei Chu, Kate Unsworth, Niek van de Velde, Lennart van Heijningen, Ieva Lendraityte, Rakesh Mana, Gijs de Haan, the “fellow table-graduates”. I’ll see you in three years, at the Entrepôt (or at Bouwpub on February 20th, 2020, 4:30 pm).

Agnindhira Napitupulu, Nadhilah Shani, Hafida Fahmiasari, Azzam Santosa, Evan Clearesta, Louie Buana, Kevin Syauta, Andita Faradina, the partners in crime when it comes to cheap jokes, good food, and awesomely good laugh. It’s a pleasure to know you all. I am blessed to have you(s)!

Heru Ramanda, Nessia Fausta, Dimas Chandra, Rizqi Hersyandika, Thio Ariyanto, Maranu Ricardo Manurung, Anandro Amellonado, Adiska Fardani, Bagas Abisena, Ilman Sulaeman, Anggrit Pinangkis, and other PPI Delft’s members. You rock!

Lusi Pratiwi, the one you would turn to whenever you need a good dose of Pempek.
Mbak Cisca Suksma, the amazing chef who has introduced me to Ayam Cocoh.

Marianne Boonekamp, Emily Fenton, Luuk van der Schaft, Tijmen de Ridder, Alex de Bruin, Jaime Junell, Kiki Faber, Marenka Brussee, Maarten Rietberg, Joris Jonk, Yuri Konter, Daan van Dijk, Julius Monchen, Anouk Looyestijn, Ruben de Grauw, and other Krashna Musika members who I am not able to mention in person. It was such a pleasure to make music with you, and indeed a pleasure to get acquainted with. A warm welcome is waiting in Indonesia!

Alida Bisschop, Jesse Metz, Nathan Zuiderveld, Michiel de Haan, the KraKra crews. It has been amazingly fun working with you guys!

Tri Pratiwi, Tarasinta Perwitasari, Melissa Tanuharja, Karina Angelina, Maralus Simbolon, Andika, Ade Shita Nasution, Ronald, Elizabeth Valentin, Aldin Mahendra, and the fellow of Tuinstraat 11, who are always welcome me (most probably because they had no other option). Thank you for hosting me on the last days of my stay in Delft.

Eazie, Si Des, Seleraku, Pad Thai, Warung Bude Kati, Set, Sumo Sushi, Kyoto Sushi, Oriental Express, Min Kee, Fat Kee, Pho Rotterdam, Jamie’s Italian Kitchen, De Lelie, De Ark, Bazar Rotterdam, Hamburg, Chicken Way, Amazing Oriental, Vapiano, Kibbeling, IKEA Breakfast, Delft’s Market, and any other parties who have been influential in providing me with (quite) affordable decent food.

 

Thank you.

RECAPHOTOS3

Remember those sayings? One of them sounds like “God always knows what you need even if you cannot see it”. I do believe it’s true. I have been blessed with things that I need, especially the past couple of years. A distance from my “normal” life has given me another perspective on life and relationship, among many other things. I have learnt to make peace with (some of) my demons and find a little bit of myself that has gone missing for some time now. I’ve learnt to find myself.

After all of this time, I got so accustomed to the student’s life: all of the benefits from the student card, less additional obligations, and the fact that I didn’t have to face the real life. It feels surreal. It’s like waking up from a very beautiful dream. No matter how perfect it may seem, I have to let go. I know, soon enough, I’ll have to resume and go on living.

Let’s build another dream!

Leave a Reply

