hup hup holland hup

Finally Flewn
The journey began a couple years ago when I found out the need of pursuing a higher education and decided to go get a master degree abroad. The reason behind “abroad” may seem to be shallow, merely to enable me to go different places during my study time. I’d like to travel and see the world.

So there I was, applying for Urbanism Master Programme in one of the most notable universities in Europe, TU Delft. After series of disappointments, discouragements, anger and despairs, I am now on my way to Holland. I’m writingΒ this down when flying 37.000 feet above sea level, somewhere across Middle East heading to Amsterdam in a Boeing-777, listening to Bobby Caldwell’s performance in Java Jazz 2013.

WP_20140815_009

The Excitement Kills
Many may suspect me to be excited as well as extremely happy and sad at the same time. The truth is I feel kinda numb, somehow, hehe. I think my slow ability and low capacity in processing excessive emotion may have caused the numbness, hehe. But I must admit, leaving all the things I’ve known since the very childhood is not easy at all. And I can’t barely hold my tears writing this down, hahaha.

But I’ll come back soon enough.

Can’t hardly believe I’m just 5 hours away from Amsterdam. To the a new chapter of my life.πŸ˜‰

Pack It Up
Yes, as many may have experienced, packing for a long journey might be (slightly?) tricky. Hehe. I was lucky enough the scholarship obliged me to fly with Garuda Indonesia with 40 kg baggage allowance (haha!). Aaaaaannnndd the fact that my 4,2 kg excess baggage was not charged by the airlines really made the day (teeheee…!!)πŸ˜€

So. I was packing in and packing out things couple times before finally find an acceptable configuration. It was then decided to pack a 2 weeks clothes, several batik and traditional costume, some warming clothes, a little bit taste of home by adding up some seasonings and my mother’s fried onions, 4 books,Β  some souvenirs, my laptop. All packed in one 28″ suitcase, a 7 kg hand carry, and a laptop back pack (plus a purse for passport, wallets, and cellphones).

Not bad for a two year’s life preparation, eh?πŸ˜‰

WP_20140815_008

The Flying Partner(s)
I was granted a scholarship from one of the ministries in the Republic of Indonesia. You might want to check this link for further information.

My travel mate, who will also be my future classmate and a fellow scholarship awardees, is Wahyu, a 25 years old enthusiast who’s seems to be always on the ball. He was now too busy catching up the deadlines he made himself, hehe. Later on, I found out that there are 3 other awardees from the same scholarship who share the same flight and make it the five of us; while the other 18 will coming in the few following days.

I am flying GA88, a 14 hours direct flight from Jakarta to Amsterdam. After spending the whole night sleeping (I finally have enough of sleep these last couple days, you know!), waking up for some refreshment, go back to sleep for a couple hours, I ended up exploring the in-flight entertainment, which is not bad at all.

They provide you with a wide range of movie selection (from Hollywood to Bollywood), a vast choice of tv shows (from the gossip to the documentaries, and everything in between), and some games I didn’t play. After watching a documentary films about Amsterdam and Petra, I chose to write something while listening some jazzy tunes, Bobby Caldwell, as I mentioned before.

I’m waiting for my meals to come. It should be served in the next hour. It is a breakfast, they say. But my stomach rather need it as a lunch. Damn time difference.

WP_20140816_017

this is what i got for breakfast (or lunch?) no, its not a glass of pee.. it’s apple juice.. :p

The Farewell(s)
It has come to my surprise that I have quite a lot of kind and warmhearted friends who’s sadly saying goodbyes. No, I’m not the easiest person to handle, nor the nicest person on Earth. So it was quite a surprise to see them coming to the farewell as well as finding them at the airport waving last goodbyes. :’)

The loving family, the warmest friends alive, the love I’ve found somewhere back in time.

And a phone call.πŸ™‚

P1100711

So, wish me luck, I guess. Since I barely know what else to write now. Haha.
Thank you for all the kindness.
Lemme give it back by sharing my stories to you.
Hopefully, just hopefully, I will be able to write often.πŸ˜‰

Ready or not, Holland here I come!πŸ˜‰

somewhere up in the sky.
37.000 feet above.
Aug 16th, 2014.

3 thoughts on “hup hup holland hup

Leave a Reply

